Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Flux & flexibility
Flux & flexibility
Publicité
Archives
Derniers commentaires
16 mai 2006

Attention Crave Disorder; MySpace

Attention Crave Disorder (ACD) -- this is the explanation for the popularity of online web communities this century: AsianAvenue, Xanga, Friendster and now, almost notoriously, MySpace. I was so pleased with this insight after first talking about it in my LiveJournal blog. Actually , it started days earlier when I observed competitive preening of chicks in a classroom. Then I saw this Sinfest strip featuring Monique. And as I walked through Central Park this evening, I saw the celestial revelation that Attention Crave Disorder (ACD) is the reason for the MySpace boom.

Too bad that Technorati has already associated ACD with "Activity-centered design." (WTF?) Can I change perception of the acronym.

Incidentally, I felt guilty that I neglected mention in my last post of my #1 MySpace girl, Sara from Albuquerque, who was a freshman at University of Vancouver when she consented to be my friend. A more easy-going, fun-loving good soul would be hard to find -- I remember her joking that she was my first non-Asian. The reason for that was that I was very used to knowing only Asians online because of my initial experiences in the heyday of AsianAvenue. Even when I joined MySpace, figuring I'd use my presence there to promote Firefox, it seems to me that Asians still were by far the largest contingent. Only in the last year has an older WASP demographic moved in, I think. And the truth is that MySpace isn't as interesting as AsianAvenue was five years ago. I still think somebody can move in and steal Tom and Rupert's lunch.

Technorati : , ,
Del.icio.us : , ,
Ice Rocket : , ,

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité