Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Flux & flexibility
Flux & flexibility
Publicité
Archives
Derniers commentaires
16 mai 2006

MySpace: Web Models

The first news as I compose this (using the Performancing extension in Flock 0.7) is that I easily established a claim in Technorati. [The bad news is that nothing from Performancing took with Technorati, so I'm revising and reposting using the Zoundry blog editor.] After I've published whatever here I'll be best able to see how effective at getting tag notifications out to the world this is. If the test is passed, I'll have to buckle down to meddling with the template. Truth told, it was the ease of altering the LiveJournal template that made me use that as blog home. But, I now see that it makes good sense to have different blogs for different facets of my interests. Making the Blogger/Blogspot site specific to audio codecs and especially the hot new HE-AAC format seems an outstanding idea, since I discovered I am the source of most English language tags on that. But, what best would fit here I do not yet know. [Yeah, now I do -- this blog is to exploit the monicker "Attention Crave Disorder" -- ACD. I'm gonna try to make it the new buzz phrase!]
I made one of my ever less frequent visits to MySpace last night, just to check in the SpreadFirefox group. My reason for joining two years ago was that I didn't think Mozilla developers were taking needs of teens into account. Most definitely, they weren't offering support to help the user of Xanga, Friendster or Myspace who couldn't see her friends' dogs'-dinner pages of plugins. And, as it turned out, the initial release of Firefox 1.5 was a wretched mistake because the testers overseen by Peter(6) didn't do any testing in such sites. That was the reason that horrific memory leaks came out in an official release.
When I looked in MySpace today (I'd asked Justin, the lead hacker for Kiko.com, to be my friend -- he accepted, w00t, w00t!), I discovered that there had been 140 page hits in eight hours. Not that I gained friends -- I actually lost one. But I did see that a rising Pinay model named Rashel had read my bread-and-butter note thanking her for commenting me back after I'd congratulated her on a contract at Wihelmina. [Reminds me of that 17-year-old, Malaysian Mui on AsianAvenue who got over 500 love notes per day and actually responded to a fair number.] I discovered Rashel from a pic in the comments section on Thuy Li's page, whom I fell for initially via a page with stolen pics by a girl named Vicky in Honolulu. Thuy has a policy of not responding to anyone unless they're fellow dancers, import car show models or customers at LA clubs. Presumably that has to do with her move into a commercial adult-rated web model business. Anyway, I couldn't see the point of having her as a friend, so she's now in my long history of girls I loved and lost. ***sigh***
In the SpreadFirefox group on MySpace were a few comments on experiences with IE7. I proffered that an increasing number of Web 2.0 apps are really designed for Firefox and some won't work at all in IE. What's so much fun in that is that I still remember drumming up a protest in MySpace when "Tom" sent a message to all asking that we use IE only and not Firefox.

    Technorati : , , ,
Del.icio.us : , , ,
Ice Rocket : , , ,

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité